Recipes

Happy St. Patrick’s Day (2016)!

Hi!

I’m starting off my St. Patrick’s Day with a piece of classic Irish Soda Bread. I made the loaf yesterday and it certainly turned out better than my english muffins. Did you know the traditional Irish Soda Bread doesn’t contain raisins? I didn’t know this until I read Brown Eyed Baker’s recipe and did some of my own searching on the internet.

The recipe for the bread is really simple and I used the all purpose flour-cornstarch substitution for the cake flour. I also made sure the internal temperature was right before taking it out of the oven, something that might seem less important but I didn’t want to take any chances.

This bread is 200 times better than the bread you’ll find in the store today. Mike referred to it as ‘cracker bread’. The outside pieces are crunchy like a cracker and you could also call it ‘crack bread’ because once you have one piece you’ll find it hard to resist another!

File_000-3
Erin Go Bragh!
Leave a Reply

