Running, Workouts

Run with Rachel- Find What Motivates You

If you’ve decided you want to start running more often or even do a run/walk combo, I’d recommend that you first find out what motivates you. If you don’t know what’s motivating you to run then you’ll be more likely to quit and you’ll find yourself making excuses for why you’re not doing it anymore.

For me, signing up for a race is one of my biggest motivators. Once I’ve registered I know I’m going to do it. One reason being I paid for it. So I want to show up and get my awesome race shirt and if there’s a medal I most certainly want my medal. The SWAG (Stuff We All Get) definitely motivates me.

For others, weight loss could be a motivator whether it’s a small amount like 5 or 10 pounds or if it’s a large amount.

Or it could be that you want to run a 5K because you’ve never ran one before. Take some time and think about it. When you find out what does motivate you, write it down and put it somewhere that you can see it every day- like your bathroom mirror or in your car or on your nightstand. Because some days you’ll need it.

In addition to the lovely SWAG, this year I’m motivated to get back into shape. I’ve started walking outside for about 25-30 minutes during my lunch hour and it’s amazing how quickly your body adjusts to lack of activity. 25 to 30 minutes doesn’t seem like a long time for walking but when I sit at a desk all day it makes a difference to get up and walk more often. I’m taking it easy this year and plan to add in the running soon.

Oh and I run for baked goods. Ask my friends, if there are bagels at the end of the race, I’ll leave you in the dust. ;)
I Run

2 thoughts on “Run with Rachel- Find What Motivates You”

  1. I totally run so I can eat anything I want. At least that’s the way I started. Now it’s more about running addiction, but I continue to use food as an excuse so I seem less weird.

Leave a Reply

