Recipes, Weekend Fun

Slow Cooker Steak

Hi there!

How was your weekend? Are you feeling tired today after losing an hour? I don’t know about you but I had a hard time getting up this morning. Yesterday was fine- I slept in and didn’t feel too tired throughout the day and I even went to bed a half hour early last night. But it’s all worth it for a sunset at 6:51 pm and warmer weather in the 10 day forecast!

I took the opportunity to walk outside on Saturday and Sunday and it was so nice to not have to wear 20 some layers and to see the sun shining and the snow melting. We still have some snow on the ground but I believe it will be gone by the end of the week!

On Friday I got the spontaneous idea to get bangs. I think growing my hair long for the wedding is starting to get to me and because I need the length for most up-dos I’ve looked at it, I thought what about bangs? And I mean full on across the forehead bangs. Many asked what about the wedding? What about the wedding? If I don’t like them I can pull them back or grow them out- no big deal. Even my hair stylist asked if I was hormonal. My response? Cut the bangs! And guess what? I love them! I think they look great and it’s a nice change. Call it spring cleaning for my hair. Check them out:
Bangs

For dinner on Saturday we decided to try out a new restaurant: Transfer MKE. Transfer actually used to be a pharmacy and they called it transfer because it was a popular bus stop in Milwaukee (and still is). They later turned it into a pizza place and kept the stained glass windows originally there for the pharmacy that advertise stationery and other items sold. We really liked our pizza but my favorite was the dessert. Despite being a little full we agreed it was worth it when we heard they had limoncello mascarpone cake. This cake was amazing! I love lemon cake to begin with and I feel the mascarpone just brought it up a notch to make it one of my favorite desserts. The cake was gone in less than 60 seconds. It’s probably my second favorite dessert in Milwaukee, Buckley’s carrot cake being my absolute favorite.
Limoncello Mascarpone Cake

The entrance to the restaurant has a bunch of bike or side mirrors from cars above the door and it looked really cool. If you look to the right you can see one of the stained glass windows.
Transfer MKE

Sunday I went to my second yoga class and then we headed downtown for the Milwaukee Admirals game. We were excited to go because it was pet day.

Mike (1280x853)

There were so many dogs and all different breeds! We saw Labrador retrievers, golden retrievers, a corgi, Boston terriers, pit bulls, and what I think were two Tibetan mastiffs.
Pet Day (1280x974)

The Admirals ended up losing (1-5) but we still enjoyed going and the first period was very fast paced with a big fight that I managed to capture.
Admirals 03 08 15 (1280x853)

Last week we tried a new recipe that I’ve decided to share with you. It wasn’t a winner for us but it wasn’t a miss either. We made Clinton Kelly’s Spicy Slow Cooker Steak. The reason why it wasn’t a winner is because it wasn’t spicy- I don’t remember finding any heat in the dish and I’m not saying we need a lot but it was lacking in the spicy department. We loved this dish for how easy it was to make- we definitely under utilize our slow cooker. Next time we would probably add more spice and possibly cut the meat differently but it deserves a second chance!
Slow Cooker Steak (1280x853)

What do you love to cook in your slow cooker?

Leave a Reply

