Fish Fry Frenzy, Recipes, Weekend Fun

Fish Fry and Caramel Pecan Rolls

Hi there!

What new adventures did you experience this weekend? We had some warm [30 degree] weather on Saturday and I had planned to wash my car but everyone else had the same idea so it’ll have to wait a couple more days. No big deal!

We started our weekend with our own Friday Fish Fry – homemade style. We chose Alton Brown’s recipe and had hoped to use Haddock but our supermarket only had Cod. Also we chose a light beer instead of a dark beer as Alton suggests. The fish turned out great for our first time! The batter really stayed on the fish, I don’t always like it when it comes off the fish too easily.
Cod Fish Fry

Today we started off the morning with some new breakfast, well for me at least. I made hash browns for the first time and they turned out great!
Hash Browns

To make them all I did was grate the potatoes, season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and then cooked them in a skillet with some butter and canola oil. I was patient and made sure to wait until they were crispy to flip them and cook the second side.

We also had cinnamon rolls with a caramel pecan glaze. I would call these sticky buns like the ones I used to get at Eat -n- Park back in Pittsburgh and they are the kind of ‘cinnamon rolls’ Mike grew up with and loves.

Pecan Rolls

So I started with the recipe for cinnamon rolls from Sally’s Baking Addiction but didn’t make the frosting. I used Pioneer Woman’s caramel sauce and poured it into the bottom of the pan and then sprinkled pecans and placed the rolls on top. After some caramel boiled over in the oven we quickly fixed that and they came out looking and tasting delicious!
Pecan Rolls 2

For lunch we decided to venture outside and to downtown Milwaukee in the frigid cold weather. The Milwaukee River is pretty frozen right now!
Milwaukee River

We ended up at Water Buffalo, one of our favorite restaurants.
Water Buffalo

I love their cheese ravioli but unfortunately after placing my order for a plate the server came back to inform me that they were out. :( So I opted for their Teriyaki salmon which was good and on the house due to the shortage of ravioli!
Salmon

How was your weekend??

1 thought on “Fish Fry and Caramel Pecan Rolls”

  1. Luscious fish treat! For a fish to taste yummy, it must swim three times: in water, in butter and in wine. I do that most of the times for the best result. You too try.

Leave a Reply

