Weekend Fun

My Birthday Weekend

Hi there!

How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun?

This weekend was great for me! We celebrated my birthday early (it’s today) and my brother is in town for work. So Mike and I made plans to have dinner with him Saturday night. We went to the restaurant where Mike proposed- Louise’s and enjoyed some delicious food! I’m still getting over my stomach virus/infection/whatever you want to call it and the doctor told me no dairy for two weeks. Let me tell you, living in America’s Dairyland does not make being dairy free for two weeks easy ! Especially because I enjoy having a glass of milk every day. But I came to a solution- a nice tasty steak. :) Louise’s is an Italian restaurant but my brother and I both had the filet mignon which was delicious and Mike had braised short ribs with gnocchi. We were all very happy by the end of that meal!

Before our Saturday plans Mike and I were excited to go to the Milwaukee Admirals hockey game where Rocky Bleier was being honored for his service to our country. Rocky Bleier is a former Steelers player and four time Super Bowl champion! He won the four Super Bowls in the 70’s (before I was born) and he is a great guy! We waited in line for his autograph and to get a picture with him and when it was our turn he asked how we became Steelers fans, where we were from, how we ended up in Wisconsin, and where we work. It was so cool!

Rocky Bleier Autograph

Me and Rocky

Mike's Signed Terrible Towel

Sunday evening Mike wanted to make me dessert for my birthday. Sticking to the no-dairy rule I searched for something I would enjoy but wouldn’t make me sick after eating it. He ended up baking Iowa Girl Eats Apple Crisp. Normally I would add some vanilla ice cream to apple crisp but it was great without it! I will definitely enjoy my leftovers for the rest of the week. :)

Apple Crisp

Leave a Reply

