Souper Bowl Sunday

Souper-Bowl Sunday

Sunday…Sunday…Sunday!

I hope you had a great weekend and enjoyed an extra hour of sleep. We ended up waking at 7 am despite the extra hour but still had a productive and fun day!

We enjoyed some brunch in Third Ward at one of our favorite places, Cafe Benelux. Afterwards we decided to test out my new camera outdoors. It was a beautiful day but a little chilly to start! I have been saving my money for many months so that I could buy a Canon DSLR camera and I love it so far! I still have plenty to learn but can already tell it’s a great investment.

Some of my favorite photos from today include…

View of the Third Ward arch with US Bank building and the Public Market.
Historic Third Ward

Sign for the Wicked Hop restaurant.Wicked Hop

Words to live by:
Positive Thought

Last year we decided to make it a tradition to have ‘Souper-Bowl Sundays’. We’ll make a big pot of soup during the day while watching football and then have the leftovers the rest of the week. The tradition continues this year! Today’s soup was Vegetable Beef Soup and it was delicious!!

If you’d like to join in the fun of Souper-Bowl Sundays, here is the recipe. Oh, did I mention it’s made in the Crockpot? Awesomesauce!

Vegetable Beef Soup

Ingredients
1 lb beef chuck pot roast cut into 3/4″ pieces
2 c frozen mixed vegetables
1 can 14.5 oz diced tomatoes
1 envelope of Onion soup mix
1 beef bouillon cube
3 cups of water
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tbsp canola oil
2 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 clove of garlic minced
Salt
Pepper

1. After cutting beef into 3/4″ pieces season with salt and pepper. Heat oil in skillet to medium-high heat and brown meat in skillet. Drain the fat.
2. Dissolve beef bouillon cube in 1 cup of water and add to slow cooker. Add beef and all other ingredients to slow cooker. Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 8 to 10 hours.

I love noodles in all my soups so I cooked some cavatappi for my bowl. :)

Beef Vegetable Soup

 

Leave a Reply

