Recipes

Lemon Berry Fruit Salad

Hi there!

How was your weekend? Mine was pretty fantastic! I went for a long bike ride on Saturday- 24 miles! A couple weeks ago I biked 12 which is my standard distance when I just want to go out and bike but don’t have a pre-determined mileage in mind but this week I decided on 24. The last couple miles were a little rough, it was getting close to noon and the temperature was rising but I managed. I’ll shoot for 17 next time. ;) I did see a man cycling with a bird in a cage on his handlebars, which was really interesting!

Yesterday Mike and I ran our last long run before the Summerfest Rock N Sole quarter marathon (which is really a 10K~6.55 mi). We decided to run 6.7 miles along the lake which is where the race will be on Saturday. We tackled quite a hill and this will help prepare us for the bridge on the race route which is on the Interstate 794.

Afterwards we enjoyed brunch at one of our favorite places: Buckley’s. I love Buckley’s for many reasons but mostly because they always have a Guinness French toast that comes with bacon (my signature breakfast), the place is charming, and they have delicious carrot cake. Even though we burned enough calories to enjoy some carrot cake we decided not to have any.

Instead we went home and tasted some of the Lemon Berry Fruit Salad I made this weekend. I was inspired by Iowa Girl Eats’ Mojito Fruit Salad. I’m not a fan of lime, personally, but I LOVE lemon. So I decided to put my own twist on a delicious looking recipe. This fruit salad is so simple to make and perfect for the hot days of summer with fresh fruit in season. Subtract and add fruits as you like, we used our favorites.
Lemon Berry Fruit Salad

Lemon Berry Fruit Salad

Ingredients:

1/2 pint Strawberries
1/2 pint Blueberries
1 container of Blackberries
1 Granny Smith Apple
1/2 Lemon
Zest of 1 lemon
2 tsp Powdered Sugar

1. Hull strawberries and cut into bite size pieces. Core apple and cut into 1 inch chunks.
2. Place all fruit in a bowl. Zest 1 lemon into a small bowl and add the juice of half a lemon. Add 3 teaspoons of powdered sugar to juice and zest and whisk together. Pour over fruit and gently toss to combine.

Enjoy! This dish is perfect for your summer cookout!

Leave a Reply

