Recipes

Sweet Potato Casserole

Happy Hump Day!

How are you doing? I hope your week is off to a great start and it’s already half over! My week is going well, especially with the nice weather we’re having. Today is going to be a little chilly but after the past couple of days I don’t mind. Last night Mike and I had a great 3 mile run. It’s hard to believe this week is week 1 of my training plan whereas when I was living in Columbus, we’re two weeks away from the race I normally ran in Spring. But, I’m happy my race is in June and not May because it was too cold to run outside in February!

This weekend I planted some flowers in hanging baskets that will eventually be outside. I know I’m a little brave and optimistic but I couldn’t wait any longer! For now we’re keeping the flowers inside until the threat of frost is gone. Aren’t they beautiful?
Petunias and Geraniums

Our Easter dinner turned out to be delicious! How was yours? What was your favorite dish?
Easter Dinner 2014

My favorite was the Sweet Potato Casserole we made. It’s my mom’s recipe and it’s so good that I had to share it with you!
Ham, Broccoli, Sweet Potatoes

I cut the recipe in half but feel free to double it because you’ll be sad once it’s gone!

Sweet Potato Casserole

Ingredients:
1 29 oz can sweet potatoes, drained and whipped
1/6 c butter
1/4 c sugar
1/4 c milk
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt

Topping:
1/2 c brown sugar
1/4 c chopped walnuts (I went for it and used 1/2 c which is the original recipe amount)
1/6 c flour
2 tbsp butter, melted

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Mix main ingredients and place in 9 x 9, 8 x 8 dish or pie plate.
3. Mix topping ingredients and spoon over potatoes. Bake until hot and bubbly, about 35 minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

