Fish Fry Frenzy

Fish Fry Frenzy

Hi there!

How is your weekend? Wisconsinites are very happy to have a sunny, warm day after so many bitter cold ones. The birds are chirping and Spring is in the air!

Yesterday Mike and I went for a run in the morning and it was great. It’s so nice to have decent temperatures where I can easily go for a run. Especially because the gym where I currently have a membership announced it was closing tomorrow. I can’t say I’m surprised but I wasn’t quite ready for my membership to end. But, sometimes things happen for a reason and now I can prepare for the Rock N Sole race in June.

The change in weather has me craving fresh fruit, salads, and grilling. Yesterday I enjoyed a strawberry chicken pecan salad. Delicious!

Strawberry Pecan Chicken Salad

Friday Mike and I continued our Fish Fry Frenzy at Brocach Irish Pub. We’ve been to Brocach before but never on a Friday night. The place was busy!

Brocach’s fish fry is different from the other fish fry’s because they cook Haddock rather than Cod. I’m a big fan of Haddock over Cod. The batter is light and crunchy and the fish sticks don’t fall apart when you cut into one. The fish almost tastes like chicken, weird I know, but this fish fry is at the top of the list. I can’t decide which is in first place, Turner Hall or Brocach, it’s a close call right now.

Brocach Fish Fry

Now for the review:

Presentation: Good
Type of Fish: Haddock
Extras: Coleslaw
Price: $13.50, 3 out of 5
Taste: 5 out of 5
Crunch Factor: 4 out of 5
Tartar Sauce: 3.5 out of 5
Flakiness: 4 out of 5

Final Score: 19.5

The tartar sauce at Brocach was a good example of classic tartar sauce, earning it a 3 out of 5. The price was higher than other places which earned it a lower score but the you get what you pay for and that’s a great fish fry! Brocach didn’t have any extras such as potato pancakes but I love that I can switch the coleslaw for grilled asparagus. I’m just not a fan of coleslaw but I love grilled asparagus. I would definitely recommend Brocach and I know we’ll be going back!

Leave a Reply

