Recipes

Shrimp Stir Fry

Hi there!

Happy Spring! I’m glad it’s Spring and I hope we have spring like weather from now on. But I have a feeling Mother Nature has another idea.

The nicer weather has allowed me to run outside twice in one week! It’s great and I’m happy to have daylight later in the day so I can run outside. And by nicer weather I mean 30+ degrees. :)

Today I have a meatless meal for you to enjoy during Lent and if you’re not observing Lent, I hope you enjoy it! I love shrimp and thought it would go well in our usual recipe for stir fry which we make with chicken and beef.
Shrimp Stir Fry

Shrimp Stir Fry

Ingredients
1 lb raw shrimp, peeled
1 red pepper, chopped
1 yellow pepper, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1/2 yellow onion, diced
1 crown of broccoli, cut in small pieces
2 packages of brown rice, Uncle Ben’s 90 second Rice
Ground ginger
Low sodium soy sauce
Garlic
Pepper
Canola Oil
House of Tsang Classic Stir Fry Sauce

1. Peel the shrimp and rinse. Place the shrimp in a resealable bag and add garlic, ginger, pepper, soy sauce and stir fry sauce. Use enough sauce to coat the shrimp but don’t drench them. Let the shrimp marinate overnight.
2. Chop peppers, onions, and broccoli. Heat one tablespoon of canola oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add a teaspoon garlic and heat for a minute. Add peppers, onions, and broccoli. Next add a touch of soy sauce and stir fry sauce. Cook until veggies begin to become tender. I love how veggies look and smell in a skillet!
Stir Fry Veggies

3. Cook rice according to package directions (90 seconds in the microwave if using Uncle Ben’s 90 Second). Add rice and shrimp to skillet and cook until shrimp are pink. Add more stir fry sauce to taste and pepper. We used about half the bottle of stir fry sauce for this dish, some of the liquid will cook down as you add it to the veggies and rice.

I despise using recipes without exact measurements, but with the help of Mike, we created this recipe without measuring anything and using our taste as judgement. While I’ll still continue to measure everything, I’m happy the way this dish turned out. So I encourage you to try it by seasoning to your taste and hopefully you like it!

Leave a Reply

