Recipes

Chicken Quesadillas

Hi there!

I hope you had an excellent weekend! Our weekend was a lazy one and we ended up not going ice skating Saturday night. I know I’ll miss lazy weekends come summer but I’m ready for warmer weather so I can be out and about running, cycling, or just throwing a frisbee in the yard with Mike. Today I settled for an at home Pilates mat workout. Here’s to hoping Spring arrives quickly!
Pilates

Yesterday I baked Lemon Poppy Seed Bread. Lemon flavors make me think of spring, keeping the spring theme going, and this bread is delicious. I didn’t do the gluten free version and used 1% milk instead of almond milk but it turned out great! I also added a little fresh squeezed orange juice to the glaze.
Lemon Poppyseed Bread

Only three weeks until I see my little nephew, Jacob, for his one year birthday. Time has flown by! I can’t wait to see him and maybe Pittsburgh will have 50 degree temperatures that weekend. Wouldn’t that be nice?

Last night Mike and I enjoyed chicken quesadillas for dinner. I didn’t actually make them, Mike did all of the work because he’s excellent at making quesadillas. We had some frozen corn in the freezer and I thought that would be a great addition to the peppers, onions, and chicken we normally have in our quesadillas.
Chicken and Veggie Corn Quesadilla

Chicken Quesadillas

Ingredients:
2 chicken tenders
2 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
Half an orange pepper, green pepper, and red pepper each, chopped
Quarter of a red onion, chopped
1/2 c frozen corn
4 tortillas, multi-grain with olive oil flavor
Cumin
Smoked paprika
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Red pepper flakes
Chili powder
Canola oil
Mexican blend cheese
Salt
Pepper

1. Cut the chicken into thin strips. Season chicken with a little canola oil. Add all spices to chicken to taste. (Mike doesn’t measure so use some sparingly if you prefer but don’t leave out the cumin!)
2. Heat a cast iron skillet on medium heat and saute the onions, peppers, and corn. Add the chicken and cook thoroughly.
3. Heat a griddle pan or skillet to medium heat. Place one tortilla in pan and add a layer of cheese. Next add chicken and veggies, then another layer of cheese. Place a tortilla on top and cook until cheese melts, flipping once.

Quesadillas are certainly an easy meal to make but what I love about Mike’s quesadillas is they are seasoned so well. Enjoy!
Veggies for Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

