Recipes

The Slam Burger – Copycat

The Slam Burger

Happy Monday!

I hope your week is off to a great start! My weeknights for the next two weeks will consist of watching the Olympics all night long but with breaks to eat dinner. I never pass up a meal, especially not this copycat Slam Burger!

I first tried this burger a couple weeks ago at Prodigal Gastropub for Sunday brunch. We were eating brunch at 2 pm which is why I opted for a lunch item rather than breakfast. I’m so glad I tried it! The crisp apple combined with the crunchy fried onions and smoky, sweet bacon is a perfect combination. I would never have thought to put apple pieces on a burger but they work so well especially with the Gouda cheese. There’s a lot going on with this burger but trust me, it all pairs well together.

This weekend Mike and I recreated the miraculous burger and we did a great job! I encourage you to take an adventure like I did and give the Slam Burger a try because it’s a slam dunk! ;)

Copycat Slam Burger

Copycat Slam Burger

Ingredients:
4 sirloin burgers
4 buttertop buns
1 granny smith apple
Fried onions (such as French’s)
Gouda cheese
Honey peppered bacon
2 tbsp butter

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line baking sheet with foil and place wire rack on sheet. Place bacon on rack and add fresh ground pepper; bake until crispy. I like to put the bacon in the oven while it’s preheating. Once the bacon is done, add a honey-water mixture to the bacon while it cools. Add enough water to the honey to cut the sweetness.
2. Slice the apple into thin strips. Fill a bowl with 4 cups of water and the juice of half a lemon. This will keep the apple from browning but won’t give the apple slices a lemon flavor.
3. Heat a large non stick skillet to medium high heat and add two tablespoons of butter. Add burgers to pan and cook for 4 minutes on each side for a medium doneness with some pink on the inside. Add a slice of Gouda cheese and let melt.
4. In another skillet coat the skillet lightly with butter and toast your buns. To construct the burger, place the burger on the bottom bun, then bacon on top of Gouda cheese, apple slices, and finally fried onions. Add the top bun and then squish it all down and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The Slam Burger – Copycat”

    1. Unfortunately I don’t have a recipe for the sirloin patties. We purchased pre made ones from the meat department at our grocery store and seasoned them with salt and pepper. Pork would work really well with the apples! Please let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

