Recipes

Chipotle Sloppy Joes

Happy Wednesday!

I’ve been soaking up as much sun as possible before the days become shorter and the nights are longer. I certainly love fall but I’m not ready to say goodbye to summer just yet. Next week I’ll be back in Pittsburgh for a visit and I have the same game plan: sit at the pool all day. What could be better?

This week Mike and I tried a new recipe that I’m sharing with you today: Chipotle Sloppy Joes! These homemade sloppy joes are delicious and no where near as sweet as Manwich. I never realized how sweet Manwich sloppy joes are until trying these which leads me to believe Manwich contains way more sugar than is necessary. You can certainly add more heat to these but I like less spice than Mike so we kept the heat at the recommended amount.

I hope you enjoy these sloppy joes as much as Mike and I did!
Chipotle Sloppy Joes

Chipotle Sloppy Joes

Ingredients:
1/2 medium onion, chopped
1 7 oz can chipotle chiles in adobo sauce (you will only use 1 chile and 1 tsp of sauce)
1 lb ground sirloin
1 green pepper, chopped
2 1/2- 3 Tbsp tomato paste
1 tsp kosher salt, or more to taste
1 tsp fresh black pepper, or more to taste
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 8 oz can of no salt added tomato sauce
1 Tbsp olive oil
Hamburger buns

1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium high heat and saute onions in olive oil.
2. Remove 1 tsp adobo sauce from can, set aside. Remove 1 chipotle chile from can, chop and set aside.
3. Add ground sirloin to pan with onions and cook 4 minutes or until browned. Add bell pepper to pan and saute for 2 minutes. Stir in chopped chipotle chile, adobo sauce, tomato paste, and next 3 ingredients through tomato sauce. Cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Taste sloppy joes and add more tomato paste for more  tomato flavor and salt and pepper to taste.

Serves: 4-6

That’s it! How easy was that?!

Recipe adapted from Cooking Light

Leave a Reply

