Weekend Fun

German Fest, Our Favorite Fest

Hi there!

I hope you had a wonderful weekend! My weekend was great!

Mike and I started off the weekend with a trip to the Farmer’s market where we bought delicious, perfectly ripened strawberries, potatoes, and red pepper. It wasn’t until this week that I realized how much I love fresh fruits and vegetables and how often I eat them! Seriously, Mike and I don’t buy frozen or canned veggies any more and we don’t miss them.

After the Farmer’s market we went to the Traditional Pancake house which is an old school restaurant but we enjoyed it. We’ve had chilly weather since I returned to Wisconsin, it’s been in the 60’s, so I had pumpkin and nut pancakes for breakfast on Saturday. When it’s chilly like this it makes me think of fall and I thought the pumpkin pancakes would be perfect. They were delicious!

Sunday was a lazy Sunday but we finished off the weekend with a fabulous dinner: mini BBQ cheddar meatloaves, roast broccoli, and potatoes. Yummy!

Saturday evening we attended German Fest which was our favorite fest thus far. We don’t have many more festivals left and the Wisconsin State Fair is this week so I don’t know if anything will top German Fest. Irish Fest is in two weeks so we’ll see how that one compares. There was so much to see and do on Saturday!
Organ Music Box
Throughout the festival they had these cool organ music boxes that would play patriotic music similar to what I played in band sometimes.
Beer steinsCuckoo Clocks
The merchandise tent had intricate beer steins and cuckoo clocks.
Mike at German Fest
After awhile we didn’t feel like we were showing our German pride enough so Mike bought a new hat and I purchased a German lei. I know lei’s aren’t native to Germany but the lei was cool!
German Mardi Gras
When we were deciding what to eat we discovered a Mardi Gras parade going on and stopped to watch. I love how the drummer in this picture is giving me the stink eye. :)
Peasant Platter
For dinner we decided to share the “peasant platter” which had knockwurst, bratwurst, sauerkraut, German potato salad, and ham. It was all very good! I also had some roasted corn which I love! I still can’t believe they don’t have it at OH or PA fairs but at least I can have it anytime I want now!
Spitze
We stopped to see the band Spitze and really enjoyed the music. This weekend we discovered that our favorite festivals thus far have been the ones of our heritage: Polish and German Fest. Whether that’s a coincidence or not, I don’t know but we danced to the German music that’s for sure!
Die Lausser
We loved the band Die Lausser, they were our favorite band. The lead singer wore a Muppets Animal shirt with his kilt. They had a saxophone and clarinet player who was very talented. Die Lausser played cover songs by AC/DC, Van Halen, Four Non Blonders, and many others plus German songs and yodeling. It was great!

What a great festival! I can’t wait to go back next year!

Leave a Reply

