Recipes

Easy Baked Lobster Tails

Hi there!

I hope you are having a fabulous week and enjoying some sunshine today! I’m happy to report today is way less humid than the past four days or so. We had a storm pass through yesterday afternoon and it looked like it was 8 pm at night but it was no where near as bad as the storms through Ohio and PA.

I started off this morning with a 30 + minute run and it was a hot and sweaty one! Despite the drop in humidity I could still feel the heat creeping in during my run. I haven’t ran in about a week or two and while it was tough at first, after the first 5 minutes it was like the feeling you get when riding a bike again. At first my body was like “why are you doing this to me” and my breathing was off but then muscle memory kicked in and my body was like “oh yeah, I remember and this feels good”. Gotta love it.

Today I’m sharing a recipe for easy and cheap baked lobster tails. I’ve been cursed (or blessed) with the love of lobster and steak. I remember when I had each for the first time. My mom was so pissed because that meant higher bills at restaurants. :) I love going to the Fish Market for their twin lobster tails but the downside is they are about $30-$35! The two tails we bought at Whole Foods were only $12 for two 4 oz tails. Can you believe it?!

I was a little skeptical about cooking lobster but one of my coworkers said it’s really easy so with that in mind we decided to give it a try. Sure enough, they are easy! The recipe is as follows for baked lobster tail and clarified butter:

Ingredients:
2- 4 oz lobster tails
3 tbsp of lemon juice
3 tbsp of clarified butter (clarified butter is when you take the foam off the top of melted butter)
Pinch of paprika
Pinch of garlic powder
Salt
Pepper

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. To prepare the lobster tails cut the shell down the sides on the back side with kitchen shears or a knife. Cut the shell connected to the tail and remove and discard.
2. Cut around the lobster meat connected to the top of the shell. This will make it easier to remove once baked.
3. Prepare the lobster marinade.
4. Place lobster on aluminum foil and drizzle marinade over lobster tail.
5. Fold up the ends of the foil and completely seal the lobster.

A 4 oz lobster tail will take about 18 minutes to cook or until the tail turns a bright reddish-orange. Refer to this chart for cooking times on smaller or larger lobster tails.

The final result should look something like this!
lobster tails
We had roasted potatoes with green onions and asparagus on the side, delicious! We will definitely make this more often!

2 thoughts on “Easy Baked Lobster Tails”

Leave a Reply

