Friday's Top Ten

Friday’s Top Ten 2/1/13

Happy Uno de Februaro! Tomorrow is Groundhog Day and I have a feeling we’re going to have 6 more weeks of winter especially since we’re supposed to get 1-2 inches tomorrow, Sunday, and Monday. :( That plus working overtime at my full time job tomorrow and working Sunday at my part time job (Panera Bread) will make for a very long weekend!

Out here in Ohio they have this groundhog called “Buckey Chuck” who they believe determines whether we will have 6 more weeks of winter or not. I don’t believe in this nonsense, Punxsutawney Phil is the real deal, that’s who decides what happens. Although I think 99% of the time he doesn’t see his shadow…

I have mixed feelings about who I want to win the Super Bowl. I hate the Ravens being a Steelers fans and despite what people say about rooting for your inner conference team, I disagree with that. Everyone I know who is a Bengals, Browns, or Ravens fan rooted against the Steelers when we played the Packers a couple years ago. If the Ravens win they get their happy ending for Ray Lewis but if the 49ers win they tie the Steelers for the most Super Bowl wins. Since they won’t pass the Steelers for most wins I’m rooting for the 49ers. :)

First up on Friday’s top ten is a great Super Bowl appetizer:

#10:

This recipe is a copycat for Bonefish Grill’s bang bang shrimp and the original shrimp are delicous although deep fried. I tried a copycat recipe before and although it was healthy it just wasn’t the same. I plan to try these out and while I don’t have a deep fryer I will put them in some oil in a saute pan and fry them up. Yummy!

#9: Boots, boots, and more boots!

Image

I LOVE shoes. So don’t be surprised if you see a shoe in every Friday’s top ten. I would like these boots for skinny jeans and maybe my new buffalo check shirt. I always find shoes I love but that doesn’t mean I have to buy them right away, I do have some self control, some…

#8: Ra Ra Riot

Image

This is another totally awesome band and if you don’t know who they are be sure to check out Ra Ra Riot. Mike and I love this band and one of my favorite things about them is they have a violin player. Ra Ra Riot will be in Columbus this month and Mike and I are going to see them! Another great concert and more great memories to come!

#7: Fossil Bauble Necklace

Image

I have been seeing bauble necklaces everywhere and I love them! What a great statement necklace! This one is from Fossil and is a little out of my price range but I’m sure I can find a cheaper one at Charming Charlie’s, the mecca of jewelry.

#6: Corgi Cuteness

Image

I can’t get enough of dogs and shoes. :) This is a picture of my brother’s corgi, Roxie, who I refer to as Roxie Hart. I love this picture of her because she is super happy with a big smile on her face.

#5: Cap City 1/4 Marathon

Mike started training for the Cap City half marathon this week and I’ve increased my workout regime to prepare for the Cap City 1/4 marathon. For those of you who don’t know, the quarter marathon distance is basically the same as a 10K (6.55 vs. 6.2 miles) but due to awesome marketing, people (myself included) in Columbus sign up for the 1/4 marathon. After a grueling half marathon in Cleveland last year I’ve decided to only run 6.55 miles. I want to ease back into running longer distances and get back to my pace before I had IT Band sydrome. I’m looking forward to this race because the Cap City half marathon was the first half I did and it was an awesome experience. This is Mike’s first half and I think he’s going to have the same experience I did.

#4: Heat Wave by Richard Castle

Image

This week I finished reading Richard Castle’s book Heat Wave. I was curious to read his books because I love the TV show Castle. The book was really good but I’m not sure if I’ll read anymore, currently I’m on the fence, but it was cool to see the parallels between the book and show.

#3: Biscotti

I have been craving biscotti lately and while out and about at lunch yesterday I decided to stop at Starbucks and get a coffee and biscotti. The biscotti was “Chocolate Spiced” and I was thinking allspice or cinnamon but boy was I wrong. It was a spicy chocolate biscotti like cajun spice. Definitely not getting that one again! Next time I want biscotti I’ll get Nonni’s or make my own!

#2: Super Bowl Bingo

While browsing the net this week I found this awesome idea to create a Super Bowl bingo chart to play while watching the game. If you’d like to check out the one I created you can find it here. It’s a little biased, like half the squares are for when bad things happen to the Ravens, but now I just need to think of a prize for the winner!

#1: Panera Bread No More!

I put in my two weeks’ notice at Panera on Tuesday and it was the greatest feeling ever! I really enjoyed Panera when I started working there but now it’s exhausting working two jobs. Since I’ll be moving in with Mike at the end of this month I won’t need to work two jobs because I’ll be saving money and eventually we’ll make the move to the Artic, I mean Wisconsin. ;)

1 thought on “Friday’s Top Ten 2/1/13”

Leave a Reply

